Charge

1. Optimized charging of power battery

Charging is the energy supply method of the power battery, and it is the main component of the power battery's full life cycle. In recent years, 31% of spontaneous ignition accidents of new energy vehicles represented by electric vehicles have occurred in the charging stage. The development of power battery charging methods is no longer only focusing on accelerating charging speed and improving user experience, but also ensuring that the safety, reliability and longevity of the product. Therefore, shortening the charging time, improving the charging efficiency, and ensuring the safety, reliability and longevity of the power battery during the charging process are the research focuses and difficulties in the development of new energy vehicles in recent years. Early power battery charging was mainly constant current charging and constant voltage charging. Through continuous development and improvement, constant current and constant voltage charging, multi-stage constant current charging, current and voltage pulse charging, continuous alternating current and AC charging methods, model-based series of optimized charging, fast charging were derived.

Constant current and constant voltage charging

Constant current and constant voltage charging(CC-CV) uses constant current to charge firstly, until the power battery voltage reaches the preset value, and then switches to constant voltage charging. Finally, the termination condition is that the charging current reaches the cut-off current value. The charging process is shown in Fig 1. Constant current and constant voltage charging method has less damage to the power battery, does not need to obtain an accurate circuit model in advance, has strong versatility, and is easy to realize the hardware circuit, so it is widely used, and is the most common charging method in the application of lithium ion power battery. However, the stage of the constant voltage charging takes a long time and is not suitable for rapid charging and discharging occasions.

Figure 1 Constant current and constant voltage charging curve

Multi-stage constant current charging

The multi-stage constant current charging method consists of several constant current charging stages, as shown in Fig 2. When the power battery reaches the upper cut-off voltage or SOC in the first constant current charging stage, it jumps to the next stage and so on. In order to prevent the power battery from reaching the upper cut-off voltage too quickly, the design current of each constant current charging stage decreases step by step, and the charging is terminated by traversing all the preset constant current charging stages of the power battery condition. According to the different jump conditions between stages, the multi-stage constant current charging method can be divided into the charging method with the above cut-off voltage as the jump condition and the charging method with the SOC interval as the jump condition.

Figure 2 Multi-stage constant current charging curves

a) The above cut-off voltage as the jump condition b) The SOC interval as the jump condition

Pulse charging

The pulse charging method can reduce the polarization voltage through short-term discharge or rest, so that the next waveform cycle can obtain a higher charge current acceptability than other charging methods, increase the charge and discharge power, and reduce the charging time of the power battery. Pulse charging can be achieved by applying pulse current or pulse voltage.

Fig 3 shows the basic idea of the pulse charging method. Pulse charging generally consists of several sub-processes with Tc as the time period. Each sub-process is divided into two stages: in the first stage, the power battery uses Ic as the pulse current to charge for a duration of Td; in the second stage, the power battery uses Id as the current to discharge for a duration of Tc-Td, and Id can be 0. As the experiment progresses, the terminal voltage of the power battery continues to rise, and reaches a predetermined cut-off voltage as the termination condition.

Figure 3 Pulse charging charging curve

AC charging method

The AC charging method is a kind of power battery charging method that uses continuous periodic alternating current as the charging excitation source. Sinusoidal Ripple Current (SRC), which is charged by sine wave Current, is one of the most representative AC charging methods. Different from the pulse charging method, SRC uses the superposition of sinusoidal current and direct current as the charging current, and the amplitude of the charging current always changes with time. SRC needs a power battery model when looking for the optimal charging curve, but unlike the model-based charging method, it adds an AC component to the charging current. As shown in Fig 4, the second-order RC power battery model is composed of a resistor Ra and two RC parallel circuits in series. The impedance of power battery containing DC component can be obtained by fitting voltage and current waveforms at different frequencies during SRC charging process, so as to be applied to simulate SRC charging process. The core of SRC lies in the calculation of the optimal charging current frequency, which usually uses the analysis of electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) to find the frequency corresponding to the minimum impedance.

Figure 4 Second-order RC power battery model

Model-based optimized charging method

The model-based charging method is a kind of charging method that uses the description ability of the power battery model to optimize the charging performance. Its core is to master the characteristics of the power battery through modeling, and based on this, formulate a charging strategy for the expected optimization goal. Different from the waveform-based charging method, the model-based charging method provides deeper and wider control over the internal and external characteristics of the power battery, and is a charging method with good application prospects. According to different models, model-based charging methods usually include equivalent circuit model-based and electrochemical model-based.

The method based on the equivalent circuit model first needs to establish the equivalent circuit model of the power battery. Temperature is usually a feature that is widely concerned during the charging process of the power battery. Therefore, the temperature change of the power battery during the charging process can be considered by establishing a temperature model. It is worth noting that the coupling of the equivalent circuit model of the power battery and the temperature model is often used in a multi-stage constant heat rate charging strategy. The fundamental problem to be solved in the optimization of power battery charging is to minimize the power loss of the power battery to absorb energy. Because the electrical structure of the equivalent circuit model is simple and clear, it is often used in conjunction with the power battery power loss model to minimize the charging power loss.

Due to the simple structure of the equivalent circuit model, it is impossible to consider the internal chemical reaction process of the power battery such as the internal potential, the change of lithium-ion concentration, and electrochemistry of the power battery. In order to further adapt to the internal mechanism of the power battery, an optimized charging method based on an electrochemical model can usually be used.

Fast charging method

The fast charging method of power battery refers to a kind of charging strategy that takes measures to eliminate or reduce the polarization of the power battery to maximize the current acceptance ability of the power battery without affecting the age and safety of the power battery. Different from the traditional charging method, the fast charging method usually has a clear performance target. The Ministry of Industry and Information Technology of China recommended in the "Automotive Industry Technology Progress and Technological Transformation Investment Direction 2010" that the goal of fast charging is to charge the power battery from 0% to 80% within 0.5h.

The fast charging method of power battery can follow the charging method system of traditional power battery, but the high rate and high performance requirements of fast charging have brought some new challenges. For example, the optimization variables, optimization boundaries and constraints in the traditional optimized charging are no longer suitable for fast charging. The models in the traditional charging methods mainly focus on small charging rates below 1C, while the models in the fast charging method need to have more than 1C. With the maturity of fast charging conditions, the charging method system of traditional power batteries has begun to continuously improve and develop in response to the application requirements of fast charging, and more forms of fast charging strategies are constantly being proposed.

2. Optimization process

In order to determine the order of the multi-stage constant heat production rate charging strategy and the heat production rate value of each stage, it is necessary to establish the function of charging time, temperature rise, and charging power

In the formula, β is the target weight coefficient of charging time and temperature rise. t is the charging time, Tc is the temperature rise, a and b are the normalized processing coefficients of the equation.

In the optimization process, in order to ensure the safety of the power battery, the following constraints need to be introduced

In the formula, SOCf is the final charge into electricity.

The above optimization problem can be solved by genetic algorithm, and the implementation process is shown in Fig 5.

Figure 5 Optimization process of genetic algorithm

3. Simulation results

Set SOCf as 0.9 and Tmax as 50℃ to analyze the power battery. Taking β as 0.24 and the third order as an example, the third order constant heat production value was optimized by genetic algorithm to be 0.36W, 0.27W and 0.19W. The charging curve of the power battery is obtained, as shown in Fig 6. The charging time of the power battery is 3563s and the temperature rise is 1.07℃.

Figure 6 Third order constant heat production value and charging current

4. Experimental verification

In order to evaluate the advantages of this charging method compared with the traditional CCCV method, a comparative experiment was carried out on the power battery at 25℃. The result is shown in Fig 7.

Figure 7 Comparison of optimized charging method and CCCV

a) Current curves b) Voltage curves c) Temperature rise (d) SOC


Table 1 Comparison of optimized charging method and CCCV

The results show that, compared with the traditional CCCV charging method, the multi-stage constant heat production rate charging method based on the model can shorten the charging time by 7.89% and reduce the temperature rise by 38.8%, which is a feasible optimal charging method.

5. References

[1] R. Xiong. Core Algorithms of Battery Management System. Beijing:China Machine Press,2018. (Chinese) (Chapter Nine)

[2] R. Xiong, W. Sun, Q. Yu* and F. Sun, “Research progress, challenges and prospects of fault diagnosis on battery system of electric vehicles”, Applied Energy, vol. 279, pp.115855, Dec 2020. (Download)

[3] R. Xiong*, Y. Pan, W.X. Shen, H. Li and F. C. Sun, “Lithium-ion battery aging mechanisms and diagnosis method for automotive applications: Recent advances and perspectives”, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, vol. 131, pp. 110048, Oct 2020. (Download)

[4] R. Xiong*, S. Ma, H. Li, F. Sun and J.Li, “Towards a Safer Battery Management System: A Critical Review on Diagnosis and Prognosis of Battery Short Circuit”, iScience, vol. 23, no. 4, pp. 101010, Apr 2020. (Download)

[5] M. Ye, H. Gong, R. Xiong* and H. Mu, “Research on the Battery Charging Strategy With Charging and Temperature Rising Control Awareness”, IEEE ACCESS, vol. 6, pp. 64193 – 64201, Oct 2018.(Download

6. Available Resources

(1) Optimize charging information: click to download(Optimize charging)

(2) Model instance:Resource Application Form.pdf

Description:The charging method based on the equivalent circuit-temperature model adopts a multi-stage constant heat rate strategy.

(3) Lecture notes: Resource Application Form.pdf



0
Adress:No.5 South Zhongguancun St., Haidian District, Beijing,100081,China.   Copyright  ©  2020-   AESA  All Rights Reserved.
Links: Beijing Institute of Technology    Applied Energy    MIT-Ju Li Group    Chinese J. ME    Sch. Mech Engin

优化充电

1. 动力电池优化充电

充电是动力电池的能量补给方式,是动力电池全生命周期工况的主要组成部分。近年来,以电动汽车为代表的新能源汽车自燃起火事故有31%都发生在充电阶段,动力电池充电方法的发展不再是仅着眼于加快充电速度、提高用户体验,还要保证新能源汽车的安全性、可靠性和长寿性。因此,缩短动力电池的充电时间、提高动力电池的充电效率以及在充电过程中保证动力电池安全性、可靠性和长寿性是近年来新能源汽车发展的研究重点和难点。早期的动力电池充电主要是恒流充电方法和恒压充电方法,通过不断发展完善衍生出恒流恒压充电方法、多阶恒流充电方法、电流和电压脉冲充电方法,还有以连续交变电流为激励的交流充电方法、以模型为基础的系列优化充电方法以及近年来热门的快速充电方法等。

恒流恒压充电

恒流恒压充电方法(CC-CV)方法首先采用设定好的恒定电流对动力电池进行充电,直到动力电池电压达到预设值后切换为恒压充电,最终以充电电流达到截止电流值为终止条件,能够有效结合上述两种充电方法优势,具体的充电过程如图1所示。恒流恒压充电方法对动力电池的损伤较小,不需要预先获取准确的电路模型,通用性强、方法简单、易于实现硬件电路,因而被广泛应用,是目前锂离子动力电池应用中最为常见的充电方式。但恒压充电阶段耗费时间长,难以适用于快速充放电的场合。

图1 恒流恒压充电曲线

多阶恒流充电

多阶恒流充电方法由若干个恒流充电阶段组成,如图2所示,当动力电池在第一个恒流充电阶段达到了上截止电压或设定的SOC水平后,跳转至下一个恒流充电阶段,如此类推,为了避免动力电池过快到达上截止电压,每个恒流充电阶段的设计电流呈现阶梯式逐级递减,以遍历动力电池预设的所有恒流充电阶段为充电终止条件。按照阶与阶之间跳转条件的不同,多阶段恒流充电方法可以分为以上截止电压为跳转条件的充电方式和以SOC区间为跳转条件的充电方式。

图2 多阶段恒流充电曲线

a) 以上截至电压为跳转条件 b) 以SOC区间为跳转条件

脉冲充电

脉冲充电方法可通过短时间的放电或者间歇降低极化电压,使得下一个波形周期获得相比与其他充电方式更高的充电电流可接受能力,增加充放电功率,减少动力电池充电时间。可以通过施加脉冲电流的方式实现脉冲充电,也可通过在动力电池两端施加脉冲电压的方式来实现。

如图3展示了脉冲充电方法的基本思想。脉冲充电一般由若干个以Tc为时间周期的子过程组成,每个子过程分为两个阶段:第一阶段,动力电池以Ic为脉冲电流充电Td时间;第二阶段,动力电池以Id为电流小脉冲进行Tc-Td时长的放电,Id可以为0。随着实验的进行,动力电池端电压持续升高,通过以端电压达到预定的截止电压为终止条件。

图3 脉冲充电充电曲线

交流充电方法

交流充电方法是一类采用连续周期性交变电流作为充电激励源的动力电池充电方法,其中,以正弦波电流实现充电的正弦波充电方法(Sinusoidal Ripple Current,SRC)是最具有代表性的交流充电方法之一。与脉冲充电方法不同,SRC利用正弦电流与直流电叠加作为充电电流,而充电电流的幅值一直随着时间而变化。SRC在寻找最优充电曲线时需要动力电池模型,但与基于模型的充电方法不同的是,它在充电电流中加入了交流分量。如图4所示,二阶RC动力电池模型由一个电阻Ra和两个RC并联电路串联而成,含有直流分量的动力电池阻抗,通过拟合SRC充电过程中不同频率下的电压、电流波形可以得到模型各分量值,从而应用于模拟SRC充电过程。SRC的核心在于最优充电电流频率的计算,通常是利用对电化学阻抗谱(EIS)的分析寻找最小阻抗所对应的频率。


图4 二阶RC动力电池模型

基于模型的优化充电方法

基于模型的充电方法是一种利用动力电池模型描述能力进行充电性能优化的一类充电方法,其核心是通过建模的方式掌握动力电池特性,并基于此制定面向预期优化目标的充电策略。与基于波形的充电方法不同,基于模型的充电方法在动力电池内外特性方面提供了更深、更广的把控度,是一种具有良好应用前景的充电方法。根据使用模型的不同,基于模型的充电方法通常有基于等效电路模型的充电方法和基于电化学模型的充电方法等。

基于等效电路模型的方法首先需要建立动力电池的等效电路模型,温度通常是动力电池充电过程中广受关注的特性,因此,可以通过建立温度模型来考虑充电过程中的动力电池温度变化。值得说明的是,动力电池等效电路模型与温度模型的耦合常应用于多阶恒产热率的充电策略当中。动力电池优化充电要解决的根本问题是尽可能减少动力电池吸收能量的功率损失。由于等效电路模型的电学构成简单明确,因此,常与动力电池功率损失模型联合使用,以实现充电功率损失的最小化。

由于等效电路模型的结构简单,无法考虑动力电池内部电势、锂离子浓度变化、电化学等动力电池内部化学反应过程。为了进一步适应动力电池的内部机理,通常可以采用基于电化学模型的优化充电方法。

快速充电方法

动力电池快速充电方法是指采取消除或降低动力电池极化等措施,在不影响动力电池长寿性和安全性的前提下最大程度发挥动力电池电流接受能力的一类充电策略。与传统充电方法不同的是,动力电池快速充电方法通常设有明确的性能目标。我国工信部在《汽车产业技术进步和技术改造投资方向2010年》中建议指出,快速充电的目标是在0.5h内将动力电池从0%电量充电至80%电量。

动力电池快速充电方法可以沿用传统动力电池的充电方法体系,但是快速充电的大倍率和高性能要求带来了一些新的挑战。例如,传统优化充电中的优化变量、优化边界及约束条件不再适用于快速充电的场合;传统充电方法中的模型主要关注1C以下的小充电倍率,而快速充电方法中的模型需要具备1C以上的大倍率适用性。随着快速充电条件的日渐成熟,传统动力电池的充电方法体系开始针对快速充电的应用要求不断完善和发展,也在不断产生更多形式的快速充电策略。

2. 主要结果

基于等效电路-温度模型的充电方法和多阶段恒产热率策略

(1)仿真结果

SOCf为0.9、Tmax为50℃,对动力电池单体进行分析。取β为0.24,以三阶为例,使用遗传算法优化得到三阶恒产热值分别为0.36W、0.27W和0.19W。得到动力电池的充电曲线,如图2所示。此时动力电池的充电时间为3563s,温升为1.07℃。

图5 三阶恒定产热值与充电电流

(2)实验验证

为了评价该充电方法相比于传统CCCV方法的优越性,在25℃环境下对动力电池单体进行充电对比实验。结果如图3所示。

图6 优化充电方法与CCCV的对比a) 电流曲线 b) 电压曲线 c) 温升 (d) SOC


表1 优化充电方法与CCCV的充电时间和温升

结果表明,相比于传统CCCV充电方式,基于模型的多阶段恒定产热率充电方法能够缩短7.89%的充电时间,并降低38.8%的温升,是一种可行的优化充电方式。

3. 参考文献

[1] 熊瑞. 动力电池管理系统核心算法(第二版)[M]. 北京:机械工业出版社,2021. (第九章)

[2] R. Xiong, W. Sun, Q. Yu* and F. Sun, “Research progress, challenges and prospects of fault diagnosis on battery system of electric vehicles”, Applied Energy, vol. 279, pp.115855, Dec 2020. (下载链接)

[3] R. Xiong*, Y. Pan, W.X. Shen, H. Li and F. C. Sun, “Lithium-ion battery aging mechanisms and diagnosis method for automotive applications: Recent advances and perspectives”, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, vol. 131, pp. 110048, Oct 2020. (下载链接)

[4] R. Xiong*, S. Ma, H. Li, F. Sun and J.Li, “Towards a Safer Battery Management System: A Critical Review on Diagnosis and Prognosis of Battery Short Circuit”, iScience, vol. 23, no. 4, pp. 101010, Apr 2020. (下载链接)

[5] M. Ye, H. Gong, R. Xiong* and H. Mu, “Research on the Battery Charging Strategy With Charging and Temperature Rising Control Awareness”, IEEE ACCESS, vol. 6, pp. 64193 – 64201, Oct 2018.(下载链接

4. 可用资源

(1) 优化充电资料: 点击下载(优化充电)

(2) 模型实例:资源申请表.pdf

说明:基于等效电路-温度模型的充电方法,采用多阶段恒产热率策略。

(3) 授课讲稿:资源申请表.pdf


0
联系地址:北京市海淀区中关村南大街5号北京理工大学   Copyright  ©  2020-   先进储能科学与应用课题组  All Rights Reserved.网站地图
友情链接: 北京理工大学    ICEIV2021会议    机械与车辆学院    机械工程学报    Applied Energy期刊